Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Lake Erie

Storm Primed for 36th Annual Midwest Classic (PREVIEW)

Storm Primed for 36th Annual Midwest Classic (PREVIEW)

PAINESVILLE, Ohio--  The Lake Erie College wrestling team is primed to compete at the 36th Annual Midwest Classic in Indianapolis Saturday and Sunday (Dec. 13-14).

The event, which features some of the top talent in the country, is held

The Storm enters the event after a strong start of the season.  They captured the overall team title and a pair of individual titles at the Mount Union Invitational and a dominating win in their season-opening duel at Alderson-Broaddus University, winning every competed bout.

For the first time in program history, the Storm is ranked in the top-10 of the country, coming in at seven in the latest NCAA Divison-II Wrestling Coaches Association rankings. Evan Rosborough (Painesville, Ohio/Riverside) moved up to the number two in the 197-pound national rankings.  Rosborough has accumulated 12 wins so far this season, with nine of them coming via pinfall and the other three coming from major decisions.

The Storm currently sits at number one in Super Region Two in the Coaches' Poll.  Several individuals were also recognized by in the weight class rankings.  Rosborough is ranked first at 197-pounds. Matt Vandermeer (Clarkston, Mich./Clarkston), the program's first All-American in 2012, is ranked second at 165-pounds after a solid start this season.  Dylan Zivcic (Mentor, Ohio/Mentor/Lakeland), who joined Rosbrough in winning the individual title at the Mount Union Invitational, ranks third at 174-pounds.  Ian Ross (Newark, N.Y./Newark), a former national qualifier, is also ranked third at 125-pounds.  Christian Baughman (Wadsworth, Ohio/Wadsworth) and Tyler Hughes (Brunswick, Ohio/Brunswick) are ranked fourth and fifth at 157- and 184-pounds respectively. 

After the Midwest Classic, the Storm hosts Mercyhurst University in dual meet on Jan. 3.


125: Forrest Glogouski

133: Ross Bahro

141: Nick Boggs

149: Adam Kehr

157: Christian Baughman

165: Matt Vandermeer

174: Dylan Zivcic

184: Tyler Hughes

197: Evan Rosborough